MAG 972PF-s 19" CRT any good?

jtr1962

Storage? I am Storage!
Best Buy has the MAG 972PF-S for $99 after rebate. I've been in need of a better monitor than what I'm using for a long time. In case anyone is curious, my original 15" monitor got too dim to be useable about a year ago. Ever since I've been using a 15" I found by the curb. The color isn't too bad but it's too small and there is distortion on one side. I've been wanting to upgrade to a 19" for CRT for quite some time but have been waiting until someone has a $99 special. If the MAG is any good it might be just what I'm looking for. Any experiences with it? If it's a POS I'll avoid it.

ddrueding

Fixture
Although I have no personal experience with it, I can look at the specs and be cautious.

Dot Pitch: 0.25 is mediocre.
Resolution: 1280x1024@76hz MAX, Although this is likely the resolution I'd use, most CRTs don't perform well when operating at max spec.

MaxBurn

Storage Is My Life
Had two mag monitors with several problems with both of them. Not recomended.

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
I've had my 19" MAG DJ810 for at least 5-6 years. It's been fine.

For $99, I don't think you should be too picky. You probably won't find a 19-incher that is much better in the price range you're considering.

If you're worried about quality & price, you should probably buy a higher end used monitor.

C

sechs

Storage? I am Storage!
Older MAG monitors were great; these days, at best, they're nothing special. I can't speak for build quality, but as far as price-for-specification, if you're not looking to do anything horribly exciting, this will do.

I'd also suggesting looking into higher-end used/refurbished monitors.

Tea

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.redhill.net.au
Mate, you're running a 15 inch screen you found in the street. Any 19 inch screen is going to be about 197,675,231.04 miles better than what you have now. Even if it won't switch on it's going to be better than the clunker you use now.