question Mobile Phones

Striker

Learning Storage Performance
You could change launchers on any android phone as far as I know.

Sol

Storage is cool
You could change launchers on any android phone as far as I know.

The launcher can be replaced, but HTC sense extends beyond the launcher in some way and it seems to continue to have a performance impact even when you're not using the HTC launcher. Samsungs TouchWiz, on the other hand, doesn't seem to have any great affect beyond the launcher. Which isn't to suggest that Samsung phones don't have problems all their own, but just that TouchWiz is generally pretty innocuous compared to things like Sense and Motoblur (With which I've had no direct experience, one or two people in the office decided that a BlackBerry was the best phone for them (I think they've subsequently changed their minds), not a single one went for a Motorola). It's not that it's necessarily any better but I would say it's a lot easier to ignore if (when?) you decide you prefer something else.

time

Storage? I am Storage!
We got the Galaxy S II. It's way better in the flesh than the already impressive specs suggest. Battery life is great so far and the screen is to die for. I don't know what people who claim they prefer LCD have been smoking - this is easily the best phone display you can get, a very significant improvement over previous AMOLED.

One of the surprises is how good the Samsung software and customizations are. There's a lot of attention to detail all the way through. For instance, you can access the music player even while the screen is locked.

The reviews are right, it's an awesome phone.

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
One of my students was showing me a Droid Bionic yesterday. It comes with some kind of complete ridiculous streaming video VPN client. We were able to live-stream a BD rip over his LTE connection.

I have to admit I was pretty impressed by that.

time

Storage? I am Storage!