Small problem with SF front page

Tannin

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
4,448
Location
Huon Valley, Tasmania
Website
www.redhill.net.au
Hi Doug, a small bug report for you. The browser detection routine on the front page is a bit trigger happy. With both of my primary browsers, it gives me a plain, blank page with no links at all. On inspecting the page source, I see this:

<frameset border="1" frameborder="no" framespacing="1" rows="150,*">
<frame src="main_top.htm" name="sf_top" noresize scrolling=no>
<frame src="main_body.htm" name="sf_bottom" noresize>
<noframes>
Please upgrade your web browser. Your browser needs to support frames. Visit Microsoft

</frameset>

Both browsers do support frames, and work just fine on Storage Forum.

PS: Not the slightest intention of visiting Microsoft for a browser downgrade!
 

Handruin

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
13,737
Location
USA
I have since reworked the page and included a variety of browsers to choose from. :wink:

I followed the guidlines of W3C for building frames. If it still does not work, then I will need to send you a new browser because it doesn't support the W3C standard. j/k Seriously, if it doesn't work i will ditch the frames because I don't know what is going on.
 

Tannin

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
4,448
Location
Huon Valley, Tasmania
Website
www.redhill.net.au
Sorry Doug, still no dice. It's not the frame code itself that is the problem, so far as I can see, but the browser-detection routine. Why don't you email me a copy of the front page HTML source. Seeing as I'm the one with the odd-ball browser, why not let me debug it for you?

I'm no good at pearl and suchlike fancy stuff, but I can handle HTML OK. Even Javascript, if it's in reasonable moderation and I wash my hands carefully afterwards.
 

Handruin

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
13,737
Location
USA
Here is the index page that calls the other two frame pages. I have no special code going on in here. As I mentioned above, I followed the WC3 method of creating frames. Maybe it's something else.

Index.html

Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>[url]www.storageforum.net[/url]
</title>
</head>


<frameset border="1"  frameborder="no" framespacing="1" rows="150,*">
<frame src="main_top.htm" name="sf_top" noresize scrolling=no>
<frame src="main_body.htm" name="sf_bottom" noresize>
<noframes>
Please upgrade your web browser.  Your browser needs to support frames.  


Visit:

<ul>
[*][url="http://www.microsoft.com/ie"]Microsoft[/url]

[*][url="http://home.netscape.com/computing/download/index.html?cp=hophb2"]Netscape[/url]

[*][url="http://www.opera.com/download/"]Opera[/url] for frame support.
[/list]
</noframes>
</frameset>



</html>

main_top.htm

Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>www.StorageForum.net</title>
<meta name="TITLE" value=""/>
<meta name="alias" content="http://www.StorageForum.net">
<meta name="STATUS" value="Draft"/>
<meta name="LANGUAGE" value="en-US"/>
<meta name="ABSTRACT" value=""/>
<meta name="LASTUPDATE" value="null"/>
<meta name="SECURITY" value="Public"/>
<meta name="KEYWORDS" value=""/>
<meta name="FORMAT" value="text/html"/>
<meta name="COPYRIGHT" value="Copyright (c) 2002 by Handruin"/>
<meta name="ROBOTS" value="index,follow"/>
<meta name="CHARSET" value="ISO-8859-1"/>
<meta name="OWNER" type="email" value="webmaster@StorageForum.net"/>
<meta name="DOCUMENTCOUNTRYCODE" value="us"/>
<meta name="DOCUMENTLANGUAGECODE" value="en"/>
<meta name="DESCRIPTION" content=""/>

<link rel="stylesheet" href="scripts/sfstyletop.css">

</head>
<body class="mainbody">
[url="/"][img]img/sflogo.jpg[/img][/url]
</body>
</html>


main_body.htm

Code:
<html>
<head>
<title>www.StorageForum.net</title>
<meta name="TITLE" value=""/>
<meta name="alias" content="http://www.StorageForum.net">
<meta name="STATUS" value="Draft"/>
<meta name="LANGUAGE" value="en-US"/>
<meta name="ABSTRACT" value=""/>
<meta name="LASTUPDATE" value="null"/>
<meta name="SECURITY" value="Public"/>
<meta name="KEYWORDS" value=""/>
<meta name="FORMAT" value="text/html"/>
<meta name="COPYRIGHT" value="Copyright (c) 2002 by Handruin"/>
<meta name="ROBOTS" value="index,follow"/>
<meta name="CHARSET" value="ISO-8859-1"/>
<meta name="OWNER" type="email" value="webmaster@StorageForum.net"/>
<meta name="DOCUMENTCOUNTRYCODE" value="us"/>
<meta name="DOCUMENTLANGUAGECODE" value="en"/>
<meta name="DESCRIPTION" content=""/>

<link rel="stylesheet" href="scripts/sfstyle.css">

</head>
<body class="mainbody">
<table border=0 height=100% width=100% cellpadding=1 cellspacing=1>
<tr>
<td align=center>


<table border=1 height=150 width=400 cellpadding=3 cellspacing=0>
<tr>
<td class="main1l">
<center>Welcome to The Storage Forum




</p>
[url="http://www.storageforum.net/phpBB2/"]- Join The Storage Forum -[/url]</center>
</td>
</tr>
</table>


</td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>

I did miss a couple things which have fixed and included the fixes in this code. :eekers:
 

Tea

Storage? I am Storage!
Joined
Jan 15, 2002
Messages
3,749
Location
27a No Fixed Address, Oz.
Website
www.redhill.net.au
Hmmm ... .Curioser and curioser. I whacked that into a few files here at home (on my W2K machine with Navigator 4.08) and they worked just fine. So I went to www.storageforum.net and .... that worked fine too.

I'll try it at the office in the morning on my odd-ball browsers.

I'm utterly certain that this W2K machine couldn't see the contents of the frames yesterday.

I'll get back to you.
 

Handruin

Administrator
Joined
Jan 13, 2002
Messages
13,737
Location
USA
Tea said:
Hmmm ... .Curioser and curioser. I whacked that into a few files here at home (on my W2K machine with Navigator 4.08) and they worked just fine. So I went to www.storageforum.net and .... that worked fine too.

I'll try it at the office in the morning on my odd-ball browsers.

I'm utterly certain that this W2K machine couldn't see the contents of the frames yesterday.

I'll get back to you.

It very well could have been my coding. I left out the letter "L" in "table" in two sections. This may have been enough to upset the browsers. I have since fixed this yesterday, this could be why.
 
Top