Memory management

EventHorizon

What is this storage?
I'm studying ICT at Groep T (Leuven, Belgium). I have to make a paper about the memory system of my computer (Pentium4 1.60 GHz with 256MB SDRAM (os: WinMe). Where can I find information about swapping, virtual memory, pagination, ... of my system?!

Tannin

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.redhill.net.au
Makes me realise just how much of the computing world has passed me by. I used to be something of an expert at memory management in DOS days. Now, I know almost nothing. Don't seem to need to know it day to day anymore - which, now that I come to think of it, is evidence that MS have improved some things.

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
Not really. Ever gotten an "out of memory" error on a 9x machine with a half-gig of RAM?

What that usually means is that you're out of GDI memory, which IIRC is just a little 32 or 64k stack for making widgets on your screen, but Windows should still be able to handle that RAM properly.

Other funnies, realizing that your Windows machine, with a half-gig of RAM and nothing open but Explorer, is using 150MB of swap space (or even worse, growing the swap file), or finding that there are Netscape 4.x sessions that you closed DAYS ago that still have some memory allocated to them.

It's better than it was. It's still not all that good.

But then, it's better than the good old days of EMS/XMS, the lower 640k... ugh. That was awful.

Tannin

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.redhill.net.au
Mercutio said:
Not really. Ever gotten an "out of memory" error on a 9x machine with a half-gig of RAM?