Nero 7

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
Thanks to my job as an IT trainer, I have a brand-spanking new retail copy of Nero 7 Ultra Edition sitting here on my desk. I plan to try it out over the next couple days and post my thoughts.

First few things

1. The installation required two reboots. When did I go back in time to 1998?
2. Nero itself is same-old-same old, superficially the same as Nero6. However, there seem to be a larger set of options than I remember from older versions
3. My favorite thing so far: When you're making a data CD, if you put more stuff than can go on CD media, Nero asks you if you'd rather make a DVD.
4. Nero Recode is jaw-dropping fast on an A64X2. I'm just playing with short clips right now, and I haven't played with encoding anything except MPEG2 in ages. It's still much quicker than I expected.
5. Nero Showtime: PowerDVD it ain't, but it does have a nice option to reduce drive noise while playing back a movie. It either doesn't work with my LiteOn drive, or my LiteOn drive is already fairly quiet, 'cause I didn't really notice a difference when I tried it.

And those are my impressions for now.

timwhit

Hairy Aussie
How large was your installation?

I can't remember the version that I recently installed at home, but if I would have installed all the options it looked like it would have taken up about 700MB.

I don't really think I need all those extra programs that Nero now includes. I install it for the purpose of burning CDs and DVDs and nothing else. If I want to encode a MPEG2 file I will use another program.

Mercutio

There's about 200MB of nero-related stuff on this machine. That's the full install.

NeroVision is a nice, barebones DVD authoring app. I don't know how it stacks up to Ulead DVD MovieFactory, but I see that it has options to create 16x9 or 4x3 movies. That by itself is its own sort of improvement.