Thermal compound on new heat sinks

blakerwry

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
justblake.com
Does anybody use that thermal compound that is included with new heatsinks?

You know the one covered by tape that is supposed to be phase change heat transfer compound but just seemes to resemble Bondo (Auto body filler)

I have never used that gunk before... though I have sure had the pleasure of trying to clean it off... But I just bought my first retail processor with heat sink and decided to give it a go.

I hope it works out well, if not I'll once again have the pleasure of trying to remove that gunk (after it's hardened) and replacing it with thermal grease.

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
It works reasonably well, but I usually scrape it off and use artic silver instead. Pull the heat sink off and look at that pad sometime, though. The black and brown edges around where your CPU goes just don't inspire confidence.

Tannin

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.redhill.net.au
AMD do not recommend or support using thermal grease. They say that grease is good for short-term testing usage, but that it dries out and looses its conductive properties over time, so that for production purposes, you should always use phase-change pads or thermal tape.(Kristi and I did our "Gold Certification" course the other week. This was a well-stressed point made during it.)

On the other hand, the pads don't transfer anything like as much heat as good quality grease (such as Arctic Silver), and don't even measure up to the cheap white gunk you get free with some HSFs. Arctic Silver usualy drops the CPU temperature by 3 to 5 degrees.