Interview prospective peers

Tea

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.redhill.net.au
Around for a while, yes. But this is Tannin after all. I think you mean around and not really dead yet (nobody knows why) and still comprehensively refusing to learn anything about anything invented more recently than papyrus. He seems to like it that way.

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
Tea/Tannin: ROFL!!!

I found it strange he had no idea on WAIK, especially since he has passed the Vista Install/Configure exam, which does include WAIK.

OK, yeah, that's pretty sad.

Truly, as an instructor I really do appreciate the demands of the certification process, in that it tests what should be knowledge specific to the subject matter. Too many people just study the answers they need to pass the tests, sometimes without even minimal comprehension of the material. I don't like those guys, and there are enough of them out there to give those of us who are certified a bad name.

I always do tell my students that their certs might as well be toilet paper if they can't back it up with actual skill in the field.

Sol

Storage is cool
For my money (job, whatever) you might be asking the wrong questions...

I don't remember ever hearing/seeing the name WAIK before but I doubt I'd have any trouble finding and using it if I needed a custom install disc for Windows.
Similarly I studied the OSI model (briefly) at Uni but I'd have had to look it up to remember what it was. (I remembered the basics but not the acronym or the actual layers involved)

You seem to be testing people for what text books they've read and courses they've taken, and I guess that's fair to a point in that it tells you if they're lying on their resume but I've always kind of thought that became obvious pretty quickly anyway.