Laptop for home use.

Chewy509

Wotty wot wot.
Since my wife's PC is acting up, and following up on the other thread "Laptop for kids", I'm in the market for a new laptop to replace her desktop. (I get to inherit her 20" LCD, so I'll have dual 20" LCDs for my PC :bglaugh: ).

Primary use will be web, office, email, education games, and running some accounting/taxation software.

I'm looking at either a:
1. HP 4510s (Intel T6570 @ 2.1GHz, 4GB DDR3 RAM, 250GB 7200rpm drive, ATI HD4330 512MB gfx, DVD-RW, 2MP Webcam, Win7Pro, 1 yr wty)
2. HP 6730b (Intel P8600 @ 2.53GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 250GB 7200rpm drive, Intel GMA gfx, DVD-RW, 0.3MP Webcam, Win7Pro, 1yr wty).
3. Lenovo SL500 (Intel P7570 @ 2.26GHz, 4GB DDR2 RAM, 250GB 5400rpm drive, nVidia N10M-GE1 256MB gfx, DVD-RW, 0.3MP Webcam, Win7Pro, 3yr wty).

While I've used the 6730b quite extensively, I have no experience with HP 4510S nor the Lenovo SL500? Has anyone had experience with either, or have other recommendations?

Budget is AU$1500.00 and XP Mode is not required, as I've confirmed all software runs fine on Win7, (or have alternates available).

PS. The HP 6730b is $250+ than the HP 4510s, which is mostly in the CPU cost and the possible expansion options which won't be used. The SL500 listed is $50 more than the HP 4510s. The only downside to the 6730b is the Intel GMA gfx.

ddrueding

Fixture
I haven't used any of the machines listed, but I have reservations about Intel GMA and Aero. I'd actually take the 4510s even if the costs were equal.

Stereodude

Not really a
I haven't used any of the machines listed, but I have reservations about Intel GMA and Aero. I'd actually take the 4510s even if the costs were equal.
FWIW, Aero works fine on my Acer Mini Notebook with GMA4500MHD under Windows 7 x64.

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital