Laptop HDDs hit 5,400 RPM Now!

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
Interesting info:

http://zdnet.com.com/2100-1103-838981.html

I wonder if they have made tribological advancements to help compensate for the added power consumption that a faster spinning drive will have, or if they just reduced the size/mass of the platters via advances in aerial density? I'd bet on the latter...

Clocker

Barry K. Nathan

What is this storage?
You mean, "9.5mm laptop HDDs hit 5,400 RPM Now!"

IBM has had 12.5mm 5400RPM laptop drives for a while. I've been using one since October 2000 or so.

Tannin

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.redhill.net.au
I'm loosing it. Once upon a time I would have noticed something like that in a flash. Getting old.

Guess I've been away from laptops for too long. Maybe the thing to bring me back will be the quasi-laptop a couple of Taiwanese companies have started making just now: near laptop form, but mains powered, with a full-size hard drive and a desktop CPU. Now that is something I've wanted for ages. Must lok into it when they arrive here.

PS: Barry: been flat out like a lizzard drinking at the office these last few days. This week I really, really will try out your SMART utility!

Clocker

Storage? I am Storage!
What SMART utility? I'll try it too if it works on my SCSI drives.

C

Barry K. Nathan

What is this storage?
(As an aside, I removed the uncompressed download from my web site (if it can even be called a site) -- there's only the compressed .zip download. I hope that's not a problem.)

Clocker said:
What SMART utility? I'll try it too if it works on my SCSI drives.