Married Student Housing wireless network

Adcadet

Storage Freak
hey crew,
so I'm a student at a large university (University of Minnesota-Twin Cities). My wife and I live in married student housing, about 2 miles off the main campus (Minneapolis) and a mile from the "other" campus (St. Paul). Our housing is a coop so we own "shares," vote, control rent, etc. Very cool. Anyway, the University is installing a sprinkler system for us which is controlled from the Minneapolis campus. Along with the control wires, they laid some sort of internet cable (T1 perhaps? T3?) so our office can connect to the University backbone. Connecting all of our buildings would be prohibitively expensive (to spread out, too many), but the idea of going wireless was recently brought up and our President asked if anybody knew anything about this or would look into it. And like the volunteer I am, I agreed. So....what do you guys think? How would we do this? Would we get repeating routers in every building? Directional antennas and off-the-shelf wireless access points? Would the connection to the University be fast enough to support that many users? Anybody have some good info on this, or know of where I can find some?

Thanks!
Adcadet

ddrueding

Fixture
It's important to know a few things:

1. What is the connection between you and the campus? T-1 would be nice, but a fractional T-1 is likely and an ISDN is possible. The quality of the connection makes the other costs more justifiable.

2. How many buildings and how far apart? Depending on the distance and number, either directional or omni antennas would make sense. If they are close, these antennas can be attached to standard wifi gear. If they are further away, higher powered equipment like that from alvarion could be used.

3. What kind of budget is allowed? If it's substantial, routers hooked to high-end gear would provide high uptime and long warranties. If it's shoe-string, home-made antennas and USB adapters could be made to work.