Opera 9 released

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
I note that Opera 9 has a content blocking feature similar to the adblock extension in Firefox.

Good to see the Opera people doing something right.

timwhit

Hairy Aussie
Opera is pissing me off. Why is it that if I uncheck "reuse current tab" Opera still opens sites that I enter in the address bar in the current tab? If I check "reuse current tab" it does the same thing. Is this supposed to happen, or is Opera just stupid?

Will Rickards

Storage Is My Life
Website
willrickards.net
The address bar corresponds to a specific tab.
When you replace it, you are changing that tabs address.
If you want a new tab you have to open one first and then change the address.

It is different from FF because the address bar is below the tabs.

I've been using Opera as my main browser for a few months now.
The only thing that throws me is the tab order and which is selected.
I'll often hit the close button on the wrong tab, thinking I'm closing the current tab. When I close a tab it goes back to my previous tab. I want it to go to the next tab in the list.

timwhit

Hairy Aussie
Yeah, I run Firefox normally. But, I test in Opera, and it is annoying that it behaves differently. I am just being picky.

Adcadet

Storage Freak
Did opera 8.x render Gmail poorly? I seem to remember Opera not playing well with Gmail, but it looks great in 9.1.

Will Rickards

Storage Is My Life
Website
willrickards.net
Opera has really failed me for the first time today.
My bookmarks aren't displaying correctly. The folders are there but not the bookmarks not in any folders. And then later not even all the folders are showing. The appear if I do manage bookmarks.
And my middle click just stops working sporadically.
And then it just closed for no reason.

argh!

Mercutio

I finally found a use for Opera.