Wireless adapters and routers supporting enterprise WAP.

CougTek

Hairy Aussie
I'm just beginning my researchs on this topic, so help would be appreciated. I read a lot this evening about the various Wi-Fi security means. I knew WEP was crap and that WAP was better, but it had been a while since I touched that, so I needed a refresh. I've found this article among many others, which doesn't seem half bad.

From what I could assimilate, there's two main WAP types. One is called enterprise WAP or just WAP and the other is WAP-PSK and it's intended for simple SOHO networks. Enterprise WAP is supposed to be safer, assuming the passphrase used isn't something moronically simplistic.

What I'm looking for is a set of affordable routers, PCI (or PCI-E) adapters and other adapters for notebooks (be it mini-PCI or PC cards). I need choice in every category. I might have to advise buyers soon about this and I want a secured, all-around solution. I can't just answer "wait, I'll do a research" to every question regarding this. If I'm asked by a customer who wants to share his DSL connection between his two computers, I want to be able to tell him that he can buy this, this, or this router and this, this or this PCI adapter. No Googling, no delay, straight answer.

WAP-supporting devices :
Wireless routers :
PCI adapters :
PC card adapters :
Mini-PCI adapters :

WEP sucks, WAP-PSK is probably good enough, but since enterprise WAP exist, that's the one I want.

Thanks.

CougTek

Hairy Aussie
Hmmm...

Wireless enterprise networks seem to use access points instead of broadband routers. I guess I was asking too much. Oh well...

SMC seems to have a fine lineup for wireless stuff. Most of it supports WAP.

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
There's WPA and there's WPA2.