Boot from Compact Flash

Mercutio

Fatwah on Western Digital
Isn't the minimum size of an XP install slightly over 4GB to begin with? I mean, my Prepped disk images are usually about 3.8GB with XP + Office + Drivers, and those are compressed.

I know I can shoehorn a decent Linux install on a 256MB thumb drive, but the first thing I thought of was silent computing for the truly hardcore. I guess that would take an 8GB card, though.

Sol

Storage is cool
The article seems to suggest tat this might be an alternative to a ubs card reader for an OS which lacks appropriate drivers... Given that such an OS would have to be pretty obscure and that you lose hot-swapability I don't really see it's advantage over the more common internal units for too many applications...

LiamC

Storage Is My Life
ddrueding said:
I've been doing this on my Smoothwall boxes for about 6 months. The hardware is readily avialable at newegg for about $10.

I thought I'd seen mention of such a device here before, but couldn't find the reference.

ddrueding

Fixture
Just for fun, I took one of my Smoothwall boxes and installed XP SP2 on it. Here's the specs:

VIA 600Mhz Fanless CPU
256MB RAM
1GB CF Card on IDE adapter
PicoPSU 60W power supply

Running fine. I did run the XPLite demo mode to clean some stuff up, but I have XP Pro, Latest Firefox, and Media Player Classic installed with plenty (60MB) free. It actually isn't nearly as slow as I was afraid of; I think it would make a fine TS client. I don't think it'll hold it's own as a HTPC though.

Mercutio

Nope, but that little guy would be dandy as a small web or print server.
Or for that matter a file server.

Over the weekend I'm hoping to start my wooden ITX PC project. I have a $30 put-together cabinet that I'm going to mount a Via system in. I'll be installing Linux (SuSE 10, probably) and attaching drives with USB2-to-IDE and Firewire-to-IDE bridges. The drives will run (for now) off an AT PSU.

ddrueding

Fixture