DVI KVM switches, any progress?

MaxBurn

Storage Is My Life
I need a plain DVI two workstation switch. Because of the nightmares I have had with USB mice and keyboards with KVM's I want to stay PS/2 because it just works (even in DOS, go figure).

I see a slew of options on the egg, very different than a year ago when I looked last. I even see an ATEN there and I think someone here likes them a lot?

Have they solved the problem of no video on a PC that is powered and the KVM wasn't switched to it?

Recommendations please both good and bad!

Gilbo

Storage is cool
I too am curious if anyone has any recommendations regarding KVM switches. Except I'm looking for USB & DVI rather than DVI & PS2... just to confuse everyone. Sorry I can't help you out Maxburn, I have no experience with any KVM products.

Any brands well-respected? NCIX has this Belkin, but I don't know if that's a reasonable price or even a decent quality unit.

MaxBurn

Storage Is My Life
Well give it about three weeks and I will likely report back on that Aten, I think thats what I am going to get. Otherwise I am just looking at the reviews on the newegg pages.

ddrueding

Fixture
I've recently moved away from KVMs entirely. I spent too much time troubleshooting the KVMs and cables when I should have been fixing the problem on the server that I couldn't get to!

Solution? USB keyboard and mouse, and VGA direct. All hot-pluggable. Of course, I use remote desktop when I can and only resort to this when I need it. BIOS these days support USB->PS2 keyboard emulation anyway.

I realize this isn't answering your question, sorry I can't help.

Tannin

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.redhill.net.au