General musings calculating power consumption

MaxBurn

Storage Is My Life
A little while ago I smoked a Seasonic S12-430 by adding a second video card to do SLI, previously I had been running for about eight months with that system with the one video card so I think it was pretty clear what killed it. I upgraded the power supply to a S12-550 which worked for that, but I found out that SLI is a major PITA due to nvidia politics and spent a lot of money to rebuild my game PC. Now I am pondering if I will be in the same power situation if I do crossfire with this system, seems strange that these huge power supplies are needed but I guess sometimes they are.

Motherboard components and USB devices (not a lot of those)
probably less than 50w?

x1950xtx
probably about 126w
worst case possible 75w from motherboard and 75w from the PCIE power cord = 150w total.

CPU E6600
Thermal Design Power 65w about 75w with an overclock and no volt tweaks?

wd740gd
Power Dissipation
Read/Write 8.40 Watts
Idle 7.90 Watts
Standby 1.76 Watts
Sleep 1.11 Watts

Seagate 160g drive
just doubling the raptor for now.

Fans Antec Tricool 120mm
High 0.24A (max.) 2.88 W
Medium 0.2A 2.4 W x5 = 12.5w
Low 0.13A 1.56 W

274 watts total now.
126 second card
----------------------
400 total worst case.

Old system same as above only with a AMD 3700+ and SLI 7800GT. This ran for a long time but after one week in SLI I smoked a Seasonic S12-430:
319w total power with SLI.

Other stuff, gathered various sources:

Previous video cards:
7800GT 75-80 W
Dual 7800GT in SLI: 112 watts MAX
Geforce 7800GT = 39 watts @ idle / 56 watts @ peak load
Geforce 7800GT 73 watts

previous CPU
AMD 3700+ (1core San Diego) 89 Watts TDP

Similar to the x1950xtx (GDDR3 draws a little more power)
Radeon X1900XTX = 49 watts @ idle / 120 watts @ peak load
Radeon X1900XTX 135 watts

mubs

Storage? I am Storage!