Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Visual J++

• Other

• Total voters

Prof.Wizard

Wannabe Storage Freak
If you had to choose (by force!) one of Microsoft's Visual Studio languages, which one would you take and why?

Fushigi

Storage Is My Life
I'm not a developer, but if I had to choose it would be C++ since it's the closest implementation that follows an actual standard. A friend works for Wind River and uses VC++. They use it to create apps for multiple platforms, including Sun, NT, etc.

I thought VJ++ had been killed.

No C# <snicker> or Visual Foxpro?

- Fushigi

Will Rickards

Storage Is My Life
Website
willrickards.net
VB is nice for RAD stuff.
But any complex stuff and you are leaving the language and using the
underlying windows API, which is basically C.

Visual C++ really is nice, but it requires the most programmer skill.

HellDiver

Learning Storage Performance
Best Microsoft Programming Language
1. Frankly that sounds like "Hey, what's your favorite way of having your fingers chopped off?"
2. If VBscript/VBA can be at least remotely called "Micro$oft languages", then Visual C++ certainly can't. It's not a language to begin with, it's an integrated development environment for Windoze (IDE). And C++ isn't Micro$oft's, it's Bjarne Stroustrup's! All M$ did was implement it, and in one godawful way at that, one must admit, polluting it somewhat with their "vision of how things should be done". Borland C++, C++Builder, KDevelop and many other visual-style IDEs exist that did the same to C++.
3. C# can probably be called "M$ language" - it's just another of their crappy patented and proprietary things like VBA, VBscript, etc.
4. Prof, what the hell are you trying to do? "What's the best language ever?", "what language will replace other languages?", "what's the best micro$oft language?"... Are you planning on becoming a programmer and want to decide what you should start learning or something?

CougTek

Hairy Aussie