Small Form Factor 2.5-inch Enterprise Disc Drive Platform

Adcadet

Storage Freak
um.....is it not less efficient to use a 2.5" drive over a 3.5" drive, simply due to disk geometry? Bigger disk=more space/inch and a faster spin on the outside. But then again, are Cheetah X15 platters all 2.5" right now?

CougTek

Hairy Aussie
That's great news Gary. I've been asking for exactly this to happen for the last three years. 2.5" drives are the way to go. I'm tired of the big and clumsy enclosures. Can you imagine how many 2.5" drives would fit into two 5¼" bays if placed vertically like in these modules for 3.5" drives?

Mickey

Learning Storage Performance
Adcadet said:
um.....is it not less efficient to use a 2.5" drive over a 3.5" drive, simply due to disk geometry? Bigger disk=more space/inch and a faster spin on the outside. But then again, are Cheetah X15 platters all 2.5" right now?
That was the original reason there was a short-lived effort to make 3" laptop drives. The thinking was it made more sense to get a lot more space, even if the drive itself ended up wider, since large LCD screens and CDROM drives already dictated a certain size laptop.

I still wish they'd made it in the marketplace. Removeable and 5400 rpm. :(

The 15K drives use 2.5" platters, AFAIK.

Corvair

Adcadet said:
um.....is it not less efficient to use a 2.5" drive over a 3.5" drive, simply due to disk geometry? Bigger disk=more space/inch and a faster spin on the outside...

If that were the case, we'd still be stuck with 5.25-inch toe crushers and 8-inch foot decapitators.