User-friendly FTP-ish program/service?

ddrueding

Fixture
The new project I've been given (at 4PM on a Sunday) is to put together a system for providing plans/contracts to our subcontractors. Each job should have it's own subfolder. Users should be easy to create and assign read-only or read/write on a per-folder basis.

So far this is a brain-dead FTP system. But I need two complicated bits.

1. User-management system so easy that my users can add/remove accounts with little training
2. HTTP access to the site so I don't have to talk our subs through installing an FTP client.
3. Needs to be hosted somewhere; our internet connection is getting tortured already.

Any advice would be much appreciated.

CougTek

Hairy Aussie
You dream you can teach construction folks how to manage access and user accounts on any computer system? Seriously?

I'm an administrator too for a construction-conglomerate and I can assure you that you are completely delusional. There are simple systems, but there are none construction-folks-friendly-enough systems.

ddrueding

Fixture
You dream you can teach construction folks how to manage access and user accounts on any computer system? Seriously?

I'm an administrator too for a construction-conglomerate and I can assure you that you are completely delusional. There are simple systems, but there are none construction-folks-friendly-enough systems.

I'm hoping that just the estimators will need to manage users. They are not IT personnel, but they have degrees and work on computers every day. Most of them are under 40 as well, so have less fear of tech than most. (No offense intended. In my experience those that grew up with tech are more comfortable even if they have not chosen it as a hobby/interest)

I shiver as I type this, but will DropBox (or similar service) work?

'Fraid not. I need to be able to brand it and tie it in with our site somehow.

Chewy509

Wotty wot wot.

Howell

Storage? I am Storage!