Personal Dilemma

Chewy509

Wotty wot wot.
Hi Guys,

I've got a bit of a personal dilemma happening with work. Next weekend (21/22 Apr) is the Brisbane marathon which I've entered in the half marathon. I'm personally looking at a sub 1hr:45min time for the half marathon (21.5km).

Now I've been training for the marathon for the last 4 months, and have been looking forward to it for about the same time, and would be heart-breaking if I can't take part.

However the company requires a technician to perform a system installation that weekend, which is located approx 1000km away in Townsville. And there are no technicians available.

My boss has approached me to do the job, on the provision I get triple time for the job, (approx 12hrs worth of work), plus all normal allowances. In the end, I would end up with approx a weeks wage for 2 days work. Downside is, I lose a weekend, an end up working a 12 day fortnight, and miss the half marathon.

I have no respect or loyalty to my boss, but know the company I'll be dealing with in Townsville and are really good people. I don't want them shit-canned because my boss couldn't organise a root in a brothel. My boss has known about the job for over 2 months, and has failed to get things organised. (I swear sometimes the office is run by reaction to crisis, rather than planned work flow).

What would you do? Do what I love, or take the cash.

Buck

Storage? I am Storage!
Website
www.hlmcompany.com
I would take your company and your boss out of the equation. Then ask, will I respect myself more if I run the half-marathon, or help out the customer in Townsville?

Will Rickards

Storage Is My Life
Website
willrickards.net
In my priority list every work problem is less important than anything personal. So I'd say run the marathon. Your weekends are yours.

Is it really that important this gets done on _that_ weekend? What are the consequences for pushing it out a week? Will it make your boss look bad and he should look bad?

Mercutio